Part I

Eugene Myers is working on a novel about the end of the world. Meanwhile, he discovers his daughter doing porn online and his marriage is coming to an end. When he begins dreaming about people who turn out to be real, he realizes that his novel is coming true as well: every paranoid conspiracy theory is a reality, and the demented, fanatical President Winchell is bent on bringing the Book of Revelation to life. Eugene Myers may just be the one to stop the apocalypse.

In the tradition of Philip K. Dick and Robert Anton Wilson,The American Book of the Dead explores the nature of reality and the human race’s potential to either disintegrate or evolve.

Winner: Best Fiction at the DIY Book Festival

Winner: The Gold IPPY Award for Visionary Fiction

Gold IPPY Award

“Really great—reminds me of Philip K. Dick and Kurt Vonnegut.” Scott Booker, Manager of the Flaming Lips

“Reminiscent of Philip K. Dick and Haruki Murakami, a book that boldly explores the future and defies genre.” Largehearted Boy

“If you read Lolita or A Clockwork Orange without drop-kicking the book out into the garden on a rainy day, this novel is for you.” Tessa Dick, author of The Owl in Daylight, and widow of Philip K. Dick

“Part apocalyptic sci-fi and part psychological thriller with elements of more accessible literary novels and even neo-noir, this is a deep story that transcends genres.” Steve Anderson, author of The Losing Role

“This book is as important to modern American literature as Fight Club.” Catherine Tosko, author of The Bull and The Ban

“Apocalyptic lit in the tradition of Wilson & Shea’s Illuminatus!, TABOTD explores the double-edged roles that religious faith and warfare play in the human drama. An impressive blend of conspiracy theory, satire, philosophical musings, and intense mindfuckery.”  Moxie Mezcal, author of Concrete Underground

“The book is skillfully written and edited to pro standards. Baum is a credit to alternative publishing. The story is totally fresh. I haven’t read anything like it before and I give it an unhesitating recommendation.” Darryl Sloan, author of Chion and Reality Check

“Brilliant; gritty and disturbing. Original, brave, strange- not an easy read. Made me recall Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita, even though it’s been years since I’ve read that. Imagine Midas, where what’s touched turns into dreams instead of gold/ or what’s dreamt turns into reality. This book deserves to be very successful.” Michelle de Villiers on Smashwords

“A tight, character-centered book that has some urgency in its message. Why? Because Baum’s frightening future is something that could easily happen.” Rememorandum

“One of the most unique approaches to storytelling I’ve ever come across!” a reader on Goodreads

“Chances are you won’t have read anything like it before.” Review Haven

“An oddly outstanding piece of literature.” Geek Life

More reviews here.

Paperback

Ebook