About

The American Book of the Dead is a science fiction series about the apocalypse, dreams, time travel, UFOs, evolution….

In Part I, writer Eugene Myers begins dreaming of people who turn out to be real, and realizes the novel he is writing is coming true as well: every paranoid conspiracy theory is a reality, and the demented, fanatical President Winchell is trying to bring the Book of Revelation to life.

In Part II, Eugene Myers takes his group of dreamers public—he’s elevated to the level of messiah, and Anti-Christ, while President Winchell wants to start a second civil war. And then the aliens arrive…

Reviews

Winner: Best Fiction at the DIY Book Festival

Winner: The Gold IPPY Award for Visionary Fiction

ippy

“Really great – reminds me of Philip K. Dick and Kurt Vonnegut.” Scott Booker, Manager of the Flaming Lips

“Reminiscent of Philip K. Dick and Haruki Murakami, a book that boldly explores the future and defies genre.” Largehearted Boy

“If you read Lolita or A Clockwork Orange without drop-kicking the book out into the garden on a rainy day, this novel is for you.” Tessa Dick, author of The Owl in Daylight, and widow of Philip K. Dick

“Apocalyptic lit in the tradition of Wilson & Shea’s Illuminatus!, TABOTD explores the double-edged roles that religious faith and warfare play in the human drama. An impressive blend of conspiracy theory, satire, philosophical musings, and intense mindfuckery.” Moxie Mezcal, author of Concrete Underground

“This book is as important to modern American literature as Fight Club.” Catherine Tosko, author of The Bull and The Ban

“Part apocalyptic sci-fi and part psychological thriller with elements of more accessible literary novels and even neo-noir, this is a deep story that transcends genres.” Steve Anderson, author of The Losing Role

“The book is skillfully written and edited to pro standards. Baum is a credit to alternative publishing. The story is totally fresh. I haven’t read anything like it before and I give it an unhesitating recommendation.” Darryl Sloan, author of Chion and Reality Check

“Brilliant; gritty and disturbing. Original, brave, strange- not an easy read. Made me recall Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita, even though it’s been years since I’ve read that. Imagine Midas, where what’s touched turns into dreams instead of gold/ or what’s dreamt turns into reality. This book deserves to be very successful.” Michelle de Villiers on Smashwords

“A tight, character-centered book that has some urgency in its message. Why? Because Baum’s frightening future is something that could easily happen.” Rememorandum

“One of the most unique approaches to storytelling I’ve ever come across!” a reader on Goodreads

“Chances are you won’t have read anything like it before.” Review Haven

“An oddly outstanding piece of literature.” Geek Life

Interviews

Book notes at Largehearted Boy

Henry Baum’s Eschatology – An interview by Charles Todd White
Q&A with Henry Baum – An interview by Craig Lancaster
The GSpot on Alterati – Podcast interview by Joseph Matheny
Word Machines – An interview by Todd Keisling
Kindle Author – An interview by David Wisehart
Technoccult Interview – by Klint Finley
Indie Reader Interview
Geek Life Interview – by Cape Rust
13 Questions with Henry Baum – @ Horror Sleaze Trash

Trailer

Thanks to RJ Keller for putting together the video.

Buy The Book

Part I

Part II

Part I & II

Other Books

cover_sm

“This pacy, tightly written novel is like ‘Taxi Driver’ meets Charles Bukowski’s Factotum.” Uncut

“A marvel of pace and comic timing….Much of Baum’s narrative bears a similarity to Dostoevsky’s Notes from the Underground.” Daily Telegraph

“Explores the hazy junction where the teeth of the daily grind sink into the day-dreamt certainties of life’s true bell-head sounds.” Lee Ranaldo, member of Sonic Youth

Scenes from The Golden Calf filmed by “Zombieland” director, Ruben Fleischer.

“Successful both as a suspenseful, engrossing thriller and as something more: a savage satire on aspects of modern American life in the vein of DeLillo’s White Noise.…Overall, North of Sunset is an outstanding feat of storytelling that will gain a wide readership.” Compulsive Reader

“The rare piece of literary fiction that successfully combines a thriller with a healthy dose of popular culture. As the ‘Vanity Plate Killer’ roams the streets in the novel, Baum’s insights into fame, film, and writing are ever present and welcome.” Largehearted Boy

North of Sunset would make a fast-paced, successful movie, but don’t be fooled in thinking that Baum’s work is a pumped up script, it’s most definitely not. The narrative is a taut as a drum and the dialogue effortless, making North of Sunset a page-turner and an example of an effective piece of storytelling that should be envied.” Dogmatika

“The writing is stellar….I think you’ll agree it is not so much who influenced the writing; it is who this writing will influence. Trust me when I say that this book is one you buy and one you keep.” Poddy Mouth

Winner of the Hollywood Book Festival Grand Prize

Misc.

Part of the Underrated Writers Project.